Minutes of the Annual Meeting

International Eyecare Fellowship of Rotarians
Monday, June 20 2005 – McCormick Place
Rotary International Centennial Convention - Chicago, Illinois
Minutes approved <u>as written</u>, June 14, 2006 in Copenhagen, Denmark

The meeting was called to order at 4:00 PM by Fellowship Chairman, Dr. O. Doyle Dannenberg, immediately following the Avoidable Blindness Workshop. Prior to the meeting, all registered members were certified as eligible to vote by Fellowship Secretary, Harriett Schloer.

Report on 2004 "Unofficial" meeting: A report was then given regarding the "unofficial" meeting of the fellowship held in Osaka, Japan (2004) It was explained that as there was no advance notification of the Osaka, Japan fellowship meeting (as required by the IECFR Bylaws) and as there was no quorum of board members and no certification that all of those in attendance were, in fact, members of the IECFR, and because no official record of the meeting was taken as required by Rotary International for all fellowship meetings being held in an official capacity, it has been determined that said meeting was instead a "social gathering of the IECFR" and any actions / decisions made during that gathering are not valid and have therefore not been implemented.

Treasurer's Report: The Treasurer's Report which was provided to all in attendance was reviewed and approved as presented.

Secretary's Report: The Secretary's report which was provided to all in attendance was reviewed and approved as presented.

Introductions: Chairman Dannenberg then introduced all of the Officers and Board members who were in attendance at the meeting.

Fellowship Membership: The Secretary then reported that the current Fellowship membership as of June 20 is 170, including all of those who have joined during the Chicago Convention.

Eligible / Certified Voters: The Secretary then reported that the number of eligible voters in attendance at the annual meeting is 96. All of these have been provided with written ballots. In case of a written vote for any office, a majority of 49 will be required.

Changes to By-Laws: Recommended changes to the draft By-Laws were then discussed and amended. They were then unanimously approved by viva voce vote. The changes are as follows:

- 1. **Board of Directors** (Section 2): The Board shall consist of a Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary, Treasurer, Immediate Past Chair (appointed, not elected) and **eight directors**.
- 2. **Board of Directors** (Section 4): In addition to the above officers, Members at Large, representing the seven specific geographic regions as identified by the International Agency for the Prevention of Blindness, may be appointed by the executive committee. (ie: Africa, North America, Europe, Western Pacific, Latin America, Eastern Mediterranean, and Asia.) Those individuals selected as members at Large, shall, as much as possible, reside within the specific geographic region for which they will have responsibility.
- 3. **Meetings of the Fellowship** (Section 2): The agenda for these meetings will be developed by the Chair and the Secretary. Thirty (30) days prior to the Board meeting, the secretary shall request input on agenda items for the meeting from all board members. Items for inclusion on the agenda must be received by the Chairman and the Secretary no later than 10 days prior to the board meeting.
- 4. **Election of Fellowship Officers** (Section 1): Election of Board members shall be held every two years either at the general meeting or via electronic correspondence. These elections shall be held prior to July 1 in odd numbered years beginning in 2005, with the newly elected officers and board members taking office the following July 1.

5. **Amendments to By-Laws:** Any member in good standing may present proposals to amend these By-Laws. These should be submitted to the chair and secretary for consideration of the general membership no later than 30 days prior to the annual meeting. It will take a majority vote of the membership to change the By-Laws.

Election of Officers: The Secretary announced that PDG Jesse Devlyn had withdrawn his name for the position of Vice Chairman. The Chairman then called for additional nominations. Honorary Chairman, Frank Devlyn, nominated PDG Rekha Shetty for the position of Vice Chair. In addition Dr. Prithvi Raval and Kulasegaren Sabaratnam were nominated from the floor to fill positions on the board. The nominations were seconded and approved. The Chairman then called for any additional nominations. Hearing none, the ballot was closed. As there was only one candidate for each of the offices and a total of eight nominees for the eight board positions, it was moved and seconded that the slate of officers be elected as a whole. The motion carried and the vote was taken with the slate of officers and board members, as revised, being elected unanimously. Those elected to serve the fellowship from July 1, 2005 – July 30 2007 are as follows:

ChairmanDr. Ken D. TuckVice ChairmanPDG Rekha ShettySecretaryHarriett Schloer

Treasurer PDG Dr. David Gallagher

Board Member PDG Steve Brown
Board Member Patrick E. Devlyn
Board Member Rob Ketron

Board Member PDG Thomas Kwako

Board MemberTrevor PowellBoard MemberSelva R. SunderavelBoard MemberDr. Prithvi Raval

Board Member Kulasegaren Sabaratnam

Other Business to come before the Fellowship

Garriett Schloer

- It was moved and seconded that the scholarship proposal (*see attachment*) presented by Gabriel Minder be sent to the Board for review and consideration. Motion carried.
- Honorary Chair, PRIP Frank J. Devlyn, then presented outgoing chair, Dr. Dannenberg with a plaque commemorating his four years of dedicated service to the fellowship and the Avoidable Blindness Task Force. This was followed by a presentation made to Dr. Dannenberg by the fellowship Secretary.

Next Annual Meeting: Chairman Dannenberg then announced that the next annual meeting of the fellowship would be held in June 2006 in Copenhagen during the Rotary International Convention. All members of the fellowship will be notified of the date, time, and place via email prior to the convention.

Adjournment: As there was no further business, the meeting adjourned at 4:55 pm.

Respectfully Submitted Harriett Schloer

Fellowship Secretary